Cox happy to progress in Sunderland GB Pro-series

British Number four Daniel Cox was delighted to progress to the last 16 of the Aegon GB Pro-series event in Sunderland.

Cox had to come from a set down to beat opponent Myles Orton who had only made it to the last 32 as a luckiest loser after George Coupland pulled out of the tournament.

And Orton proved to be a stern test for number one seed Cox who was just happy to have progressed.

“I was pleased with today’s result, I was playing Myles who has come in through the qualifiers and I was pleased to come away with the win in the end,” said Cox.

Orton took the first set 6-4 and after the second set had to be decided by a tie break, he looked to be in complete control going 6-1 up.

But this sparked a fight back from Cox who turned the tie break around to eventually win 8-6 and take the match into a third set.

“I think that was the turning point, I just thought keep going, taking it point by point just to try and stay in the match,” explained the top seed.

“Mentally I thought in that tie break that I could come back and win this match.”

Cox powered through the final set to set up a match with Frenchman Enzo Couacaud in the next round.

But even though he is the tournament’s number one seed, Cox is not taking the tournament lightly and knows he will have to perform if he wants to win it.

He said: “I know I am expected to probably do quite well in this tournament but I am just taking each match as it comes at the moment.

“I haven’t played that much this year yet so I am just going to see how it goes.”

Published here.

Leave a Reply

