Friedsam takes Aegon GB Pro-Series title in Sunderland

German Anna-Lena Friedsam won the women’s singles title at the Aegon GB Pro-Series in Sunderland on Sunday.

The tournament’s number one seed overcame Belgium Alison Van Uytvanck 6-2 7-6 (7-4) in the final.

After the win, Friedsam said: “it feels really good. I’ve had a nice week here and played a good match today and I’m really happy about that.”

Friedsam got off to a great start in the match breaking twice and capitalising on some unforced errors by her opponent to lead 4-0.

Van Uytvanck found her service rhythm late on in the set but, with her opponent not giving anything away on her serve, it was too late to salvage the set.

The Belgium continued her recovery and maybe the crucial point in the match came in the fourth game of the second set.

The tournament’s second seed had four break points but failed to take any of them and Friedsam came from behind to hold serve.

And Van Uytvanck had a break point in the eighth game as well but again Friedsam rescued the game and held serve.

With neither player able to break the other’s serve the second set went to a tie break.

And the German’s consistently good ball striking showed through and she took the tie break 7-4 to win the championship.

Friedsam believes that her fitness helped her to complete the victory.

“I think physically I was a bit better than her today, I could play my best tennis and that’s the reason I won.”

Meanwhile Van Uytvanck admitted she did not play as well as she can in the final.

She said: “I didn’t play my best tennis today, certainly the first set was not good. The second set I tried to do more and had a lot of break points that I didn’t take and hopefully next time I will play better.

“I didn’t start good, my legs were a bit heavy, she was playing not bad and I felt like I had a lot of pressure against me which was a bit of a problem,” she added.

Published online here.

Leave a Reply

